Arturo- Shipwrecked

DSC03040

 

My Dearest Katarina,

 

Nearly three years have passed-

They have felt like the passing of the grim reaper

Slow and agonizing, as I recount our tearful parting;

The evening cloaked in black

There was a lump

A jagged stone in my throat

As the ship made way,

And the governor stood with pride

 

A terrible storm came about.

I was caught in a whirlpool

The ocean rose upon me

Squeezing with her cold, grey, and briny, hands

I saw a side of her which was so unfamiliar-

Terrifying

 

When compared to all those evenings

As we watched the waves break on the coast

With my lips pressed into your soft warm hair,

Bathed in the sunlight, then cooled with the moon

I held you whilst we dreamed of our future, together.

Oh how I miss our days together!

 

So deeply in my mind were those thoughts

Even as this harbinger of the grave

Relentlessly pounded the vessel

Doing her best to defeat the life within

Shaking my fist I yelled,

You will not take me

I will not die today!

 

My being, for a time, was shadowed.

When I awoke, stranded, I lay, alone.

My quill and journal

A few meager provisions- are all that is left.

If not for our memories

I would be a dead man.

 

You are forever etched in my soul.

Nary a moment passes, that your essence

Ever escapes my thoughts

If not for the hope of you

There would be no hope.

 

Last night I dreamed that dream again;

Into the harbor I sailed

Blasting the horn, three times;

I saw your silhouette as you jumped from the cliff

And into the icy water, you dove;

From my boat I plunged

Posthaste, into the freezing abyss

And met you on the ocean floor

We danced – Yes, danced!

We went home

I was splitting wood

Oak, to be precise,

When I looked up and saw you watching

From the window

Soap suds or sea foam

Through the glass

Dimples and smiling,

You invited me in with your eyes.

Gently caressing your heart

I could feel ours together, beating wildly

Yet a murmur was all that was heard.

 

I awoke in the forest

Pungent with cedar

Dripping with sweat

Downhearted that again,

It was merely a dream.

 

There is a reason,

Of that, I am sure

For my life to be preserved

On this desolate ground;

Perhaps it was to

Collect this cruet

As it floated to the shore

And pen this letter to you.

 

It is both strange and wonderful

Everything reminds me of you.

The gulls as they glide through the air

The trees as they sway in the warm summer breeze

A grain of sand, as it runs to and fro in the water

The spray of the waves as they

Make love to the rocks on the shore

One provoking the other;

Two separate and seemingly

Unmatched forces

Create perfect harmony, together.

 

Sadness mixes with a smile

Keeping me determined to

Find my way back to you.

 

My love for you is never ending

As certain as the dawning of the day

Filled with great and intimate discoveries

As we laugh and explore each others dreams

And all that abounds around us

Oh, how I long to hear your voice!

 

Our souls were sealed long ago.

When we meet again

All these moments apart

Will be as fleeting

As a lightning bolt

 

I miss you, my true love.

In your arms is where I am home.

Holding you close

Soothes my spirit

It is our safe place

Our secret place

No other can share

 

I pray I make my way to you,

Long before this bottled message does.

Please, fear not.

Carry hope closely.

Listen for the foghorn

Guard your gypsy soul.

Know that I love you.

 

Forever Yours,

Arturo

Standard

2 thoughts on “Arturo- Shipwrecked

  1. Katarina says:

    Dear Steve,
    I believe that the right words have been found when they make you feel. When the little hairs on your arms rise and a shiver goes down the spine. Again, you have found the right words. Thanks for the smile on my face and the feelings in my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment